THE SCHOOL BOARD OF BROWARD COUNTY, FLORIDA DIVERSITY COMMITTEE MEETING September 5, 2019 Minutes

Members Present

Afeefa Abdool-Ghany	Easton Ha
Steve Barrow	Norman (
Victoria Bastidas	Michelle.
Natalie Beasley	Naima Kł
Jane Bolin	Charles K
Vania Bredy	Esther Mi
Harve Brosten	Diljit Pan
Rebecca Dahl	Ernestine
Henry Graham	George R
Luke Harrigan	

Easton Harrison Norman O. Hemming III Michelle Jones Naima Khan-Ghany Charles King Esther Mizell Diljit Pannu Ernestine Price George Rich

Members Absent

Keisha Goldstein Carolyn Hardy Doug Harrison Nigel Lovell-Martin Ingrid Mattig Mikelange Olbel Beau Simon

Student Support Initiatives & Recovery Division Staff: Dr. Antoine Hickman; David Watkins; Terri Jones; Latricia Lauture; Marion Williams

Parliamentarian: Edward Nelson

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting began at 6:40 p.m. A quorum was present.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

The agenda was adopted by unanimous consent.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes of August 1, 2019 were approved by unanimous consent.

CHIEF OF STUDENT SUPPORT INITIATIVES & RECOVERY

Dr. Hickman welcomed Committee members and shared his educational and work background that lead him to the position of Chief of Student Support Initiatives & Recovery. He shared information about and invited Committee members to the upcoming EASE (Educating all Students with Excellence) Conference to be held Friday, October 18, 2019. Members can register to attend at <u>http://easeconference.com/</u>. The Conference Committee welcomes sponsors of the event such as vendors and support via a donation, table set-up, etc. The theme of the Conference is: *Advancing thoughtful, intentional, mindful and authentic inclusion*.

Dr. Hickman shared information regarding Hurricane Dorian relief efforts across the District and the Welcome Center at Lauderdale Manors Early Learning & Family Resource Center.

PARLIAMENTARIAN REVIEW

Mr. Nelson reviewed various aspects of formulating an effective parliamentarian resolution. He noted that the Committee, a subcommittee or an individual member may craft and bring forward a resolution under new business on the agenda.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Mr. Watkins thanked the members for committing to serve on the Committee and he hopes all members will serve on subcommittees as well. He reminded members about the meetings being "in the sunshine", part of public record, and the importance of their tasks at hand.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Report of the Nominating Committee for the Office of Chair and Election of Chair

Ms. Khan-Ghany, chairman of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee's nominee for chair is **Easton Harrison**. There were no nominations from the floor.

Teller's Report for the Office of	of Chair:
Number of votes cast	19
Necessary for election	50% + 1 = 11, Majority = 10
Easton Harrison received	18
Charles King received	1

Easton Harrison was elected to the office of chair and immediately assumed the role of the presiding officer.

Report of the Nominating Committee for the Office of Vice Chair and Election of Vice Chair

Ms. Khan-Ghany, chairman of the Nominating Committee, reported that the Committee's nominee for vice chair is **Ms. Rebecca Dahl**. **Mr. Steve Barrow** was nominated from the floor.

Prior to voting for vice chair, discussion concerned whether the election is decided by a majority vote (more than half) or by 50% + 1. Further consultation with staff defined the vote necessary to elect as 50% + 1, the same as that in the bylaws defining the number of members present for a quorum.

Teller's Report for the Election of Vice Chair - First Ballot

Number votes cast	18	
Necessary to elect	50% + 1 = 10 (Majority = 10)	
Ms. Dahl	9	
Mr. Barrow	8	
Illegal ballot	1	
(Rebecca Jones, unknown person)		

'No election' was declared.

Teller's Report for the Election of the Vice Chair – Second BallotNumber votes cast 20^* Necessary to elect50% +1 = 11 (Majority = 11)Ms. Dahl received10Mr. Barrow received10

* Illegal? (Unable to determine or assign the double vote)

'No election' was declared

Teller's Report for the Election of the Vice Chair - Third BallotNumber votes cast19Necessary to elect50% +1 = 11 (Majority = 10)Ms. Dahl received9Mr. Barrow received10

Discussion continued on whether the election is decided by a majority vote (more than half) or by 50% + 1. Unable to reach a decision, the election of the vice chair was postponed to the next meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 8:34 p.m.

Motions: N/A

The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, October 3, 2019, at 6:30 p.m., in the Board Room, Kathleen C. Wright Administration Building.

Approved October 3, 2019